One of the penalties defendants may face for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania is license suspension. Depending on the number of offenses you have had, your suspension may last between 12 and 18 months. However, defendants may be able to apply for a restricted license to use until this suspension is over. This could mean a world of difference for those who rely on a vehicle to commute to work, see their children, purchase groceries or fulfill other important responsibilities.
In the wake of the recent tragic Florida school shooting that left 17 dead, Pennsylvania lawmakers are reviewing a series of gun-bills designed to improve public safety in our state. In the past several weeks, both the House and Senate have considered bills intended to improve background checks and keep firearms out of the hands of convicted domestic abusers.
Gov. Tom Wolf is onboard with these bills, and recently asked the legislature to consider “common-sense gun reform bills that will help us close dangerous loopholes and keep weapons out of the hands of individuals who pose a threat to Pennsylvania’s citizens.”
Driving under the influence (DUI) laws continue to evolve in Pennsylvania, a trio of them – two currently in place and the third still in discussion among lawmakers – have been gaining attention the past several months. First, let’s provide a primer on DUI laws.
In Pennsylvania, any vehicle driver 21 or older with blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent faces a DUI charge. Enhanced penalties are in place for people whose BACs range from 0.10 to 0.159 percent and for amounts that are 0.16 percent or higher. If you’re under 21 – an age that’s illegal to drink alcohol – you may be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent.